

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2017 INDUCTEES ANNOUNCED FOR THE TELEVISION ACADEMY HALL OF FAME

Television Legends Including John Wells, Shonda Rhimes, and Original Cast of *Saturday Night Live* To Be Honored At 24th Hall of Fame Ceremony

(NoHo Arts District, Calif. – October 12, 2017) — The Television Academy's Hall of Fame Selection Committee today announced the induction of four television legends – including John Wells, Shonda Rhimes – and the entire original cast of *Saturday Night Live* into the 24th Hall of Fame class.

This recognition is given to "persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of <u>television</u>, via career contributions and achievements."

The ceremony and red carpet arrivals will take place on Wednesday, November 15 at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center.

The complete list of honorees includes:

John Wells – Six-time Emmy-winning writer and producer Shonda Rhimes – Three-time Emmy-nominated writer, producer and director Joan Rivers – (posthumous honor) Daytime Emmy-winning comedienne Roy Christopher – Ten-time Emmy-winning art director and production designer

Original cast of Saturday Night Live – Honoring the groundbreaking work of Emmy nominees and winners Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, and Gilda Radner

"All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture," said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. "We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations."

The 2017 honorees join more than 135 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. The coveted honor has been bestowed upon actors, comedians, directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters and various other individuals whose work in television has no

equal.

"Television's evolution can be attributed to the substantial work of numerous individuals," said Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair Rick Rosen. "It is a pleasure to honor a group whose contributions have had and will continue to have a powerful influence on our ever exciting and evolving industry."

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee is chaired by Rick Rosen, head of television for William Morris Endeavor (WME). In addition to Rosen, this year's committee included Emmy Award-winning producer Marcy Carsey; Bonnie Hammer, chairman of NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group; Fred Silverman, founder of The Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC; and Nina Tassler, president of CBS Entertainment.

About the Television Academy Hall of Fame

Founded by former Television Academy president John H. Mitchell, the Television Academy's Hall of Fame has honored on-camera legends and industry innovators. Past honorees include Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Dan Rather, Oprah Winfrey, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Lorne Michaels, Ron Howard, Carl Reiner, Leslie Moonves, Katie Couric, Bob Mackie, Mario Kreutzberger, Bob Barker, Bea Arthur, Regis Philbin, William Shatner, Bob Stewart and Candice Bergen.

Contact: Stephanie Goodell breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy) <u>stephanie@breakwhitelight.com</u> 818-462-1150